How to render a realistic virtual human

Discussion in 'Computer science & Electrical Engineering' started by iCyborg, May 31, 2007.

1. iCyborg

iCyborg i am a cyborg

We have been developing a low-cost motion capture system.
    I was assigned to write a program which uses the capture data to simulate the human motion.
    The result should be something like this (I mean the virtual human): http://people.csail.mit.edu/jovan/assets/movies/vlasic-2007-pmc.mp4

However currently I am kind of new in computer graphics, and don't know what should be learnt to design such a realistic virtual human.

So can any one suggest some resource (books, thesis, related to the deformation at the limb joints)? I am familiar with OpenGL and 3ds max.

Thank you so much.

2. aalborg

aalborg Thức Trong Giấc Ngủ

Hi ICyborg,
    I have used OpenGL to simulate some diffirerent kinds of robots, not humanoid or biped. It is one of cheapest ways to simulate moving objects under physical constraints. However, based on my experiences, OpenGL is useful if and only if you have to consider collision detection, motion planning ... because you have to code everything at the beginning (advantages of using triangles for collision detection, and open-source libs)
    As I had slightly a look at the video, I think guys at MIT and EFPL focused on the sensor fusion, (maybe data fusion) of multi-sensors more than graphical model that you are fond of doing.
    If your colleagues have to contribute for sensor, or datafusion, communication.... mainly and you only need to import their optimized signals of joint and link variables in order to virtualize a motion, OpenGL is not a good choice.
    Try to have a look Anybody (http://www.anybodytech.com/) (I have not tried yet but some guys in my uni are using this :))). It is very useful for Computer-aided Ergonomics & Eiomechatrics.