Dr. Lưu Lệ Hằng: Kavli award, Shaw prize

Discussion in 'Những người đi trước' started by VietPhDStaff, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. VietPhDStaff

    VietPhDStaff Luôn bên bạn

    Đọc từ blog của giáo sư Đàm Thanh Sơn, mới biết về thông tin của giải thưởng Kavli và giải Shaw. Dr. Jane Luu năm nay dành được 2 giải lớn, mỗi cái 1 triệu Mỹ kim (shared)
    Thật vinh dự =D>=D>=D>
    legon, Timmy, Happy and 14 others like this.
  2. JS

    JS lãng đãng

    Đọc wiki mới biết giải thật hoành tráng, kém có Nobel prize thôi.
  3. champs

    champs OK? Computer?

    Chắc JS nói về tiền thưởng hả.
  4. langtubachkhoa

    langtubachkhoa Viên mãn


    The Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Consisting of a scroll, medal and cash award of one million dollars, a prize in each of these areas has been awarded biennially since 2008. The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US) and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

    The Shaw Prize honors individuals who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or application and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. Annual prizes are in astronomy, life science and medicine, and mathematical sciences, each bearing a monetary award of one million dollars.

    3 người đạt giải Kavli về vật lý thiên văn:
    The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics is shared between David C. Jewitt, University of California, Los Angeles, USA; Jane X. Luu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Lincoln Laboratory, USA; and Michael E. Brown, California Institute of Technology, USA.

    Về Nanosciences:
    The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience goes to Mildred S. Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, "for her pioneering contributions to the study of phonons, electron-phonon interactions, and thermal transport in nanostructures.

    Giải Shaw về Toán học, cho 1 nhà toán học Nga làm việc ở IHES, Pháp:
    Maxim L. Kontsevich, a professor at the Institute for Advanced Scientific Studies in France, will take the prize for mathematical sciences, for "pioneering works in algebra, geometry and mathematical physics and in particular deformation quantization, motivic integration and mirror symmetry." The winners will receive their prizes at a ceremony in September.
  5. langtubachkhoa

    langtubachkhoa Viên mãn

    Bỏ sung thêm 1 chút, giải SHaw cũng được share cho 2/3 nhà khoa hoc trên cho ngành thiên văn học (ngoại trừ Michael Brown ở Caltech):
    Awarded in equal shares to Professor David C Jewitt, Professor of Astronomy and Director of Institute for Planets and Exoplanets, University of California, Los Angeles, USA and Professor Jane Luu, Technical Staff of Lincoln Laboratory at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA for their discovery and characterization of trans-Neptunian bodies, an archeological treasure dating back to the formation of the solar system and the long-sought source of short period comets.
  6. Miley

    Miley Thèm thuồng

Share This Page