A neuroscience question

Discussion in 'Computer science & Electrical Engineering' started by SSL, May 7, 2008.

1. SSL

SSL Thèm thuồng

I'm a layman so just wondering if anyone's familiar with binaural modulation perception. I'd need some clarification on the terminology used in modulation spectrogram and how it's significant per se. Thanks.

2. Goodgaar

Goodgaar Thèm thuồng

Bác cứ hỏi đi, em không chắc em có thể trả lời được câu hỏi của bác không nữa nhưng mà nếu nằm trong vấn đề có liên quan đến cái em làm thì chắc là OK.

3. SSL

SSL Thèm thuồng

Cảm ơn bạn,

Mình muốn hỏi trong modulation spectrogram tại sao lại lowpass (in general, only consider spectral components of less than or equal to 400Hz), bỏ hết speech information in high frequencies? Nó có advantages gì so với a regular spectrogram? Và cái filter bank (required in the process of deriving a modulation spectrogram) có specs như thế nào, e.g., bandwiths, freq. ranges, overlap, etc.? Thanks a lot.

4. cuong

cuong Thèm thuồng

Tui không chắc là nhớ chính xác đâu nhé, chỉ type lại theo những gì mình nhớ thôi.

Spectrogram là biểu diễn của speech signal by frequency, amplitude and time. Những lower frequencies thường có higher amplitude (higher energy). Ba tần số thấp nhất thường được gọi là "tần số cơ bản", nó chứa thông tin chủ yếu (thế nào là chủ yếu thì không nhớ :) ), ở mức là nếu chỉ dùng phần 3 tần số thấp này của spectrogram cũng có thể tái dựng lại tiếng nói (text to speech) ở mức good cần thiết.

Cheers

5. Sintayo

Sintayo Thèm thuồng

Here is an excellent introductory paper with a lot of references:
    http://www.icsi.berkeley.edu/~steveng/PDF/icassp97-modspec.pdf

They don't use a single low pass filter at 400 Hz.
    They might use TEN 400 Hz wide bandpass filters to cover the frequency range of 0 to 4 kHz. Then they sample the power output of these at a lower frequency like 80 Hz.